Interstitial Lung Disease Icd 9

Posted on

Diagnostic code, such as interstitial lung disease ICD 9, may not be known by the public at larget but it is actually widely used in health care. This code is systematically used as a tool to group diseases by identifying their symptoms, disorders, adverse effects of chemicals and drugs, and any other variables that are related to a disease one may suffer from.

Diagnostic coding serves as a translation of particular classifications that describe the illnesses, diseases, as well as injuries of a patient. However, due to the progress of medical advances along as well as the knowledge and everything related to health care, the diagnostic codes are constantly updated or revised at least once a year in order to match the current advances.

What does ICD 9 mean?

ICD is an abbreviation of International Statistical Classifications of Diseases. First developed by Jacques Bertillon, a French physician, in 1893, it is now developed and monitored as well as copyrighted by none other than the World Health Organizations or WHO. The ICD itself is an alphanumeric designation that is given to every description that belongs to an apparent symptom as well as a patient’s diagnosis. These codes are used in all parts of the world no matter what the native language used in the country, any health care personnel will understand the codes that are recorded in your medical records.

What does the number in ICD codes refer to?

As it has already been stated, the codes change over the years due to several updates and revises – this is translated to the number attached to the codes as well. Interstitial Lung Disease is listed under two ICD codings: ICD-9 and ICD-10. The last update shows a few changes in the descriptions for idiopathic Interstitial Lung Disease, see below to understand the descriptors that belong to ICD-9 Interstitial Lung Disease:

  • Post Inflammatory pulmonary fibrosis (515)
  • Pulmonary alveolar proteinosis (516.0)
  • Idiopathic pulmonary hemosiderosis (516.1)
  • Pulmonary alveolar microlithiasis (516.2)
  • Idiopathic interstitial pneumonia (516.30)
  • Idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (516.31)
  • Idiopathic non-specific interstitial pneumonia (516.32)
  • Acute interstitial pneumonia (516.33)
  • Respiratory bronchiolitis interstitial lung disease (516.34)
  • Idiopathic lymphoid interstitial pneumonia (516.35)
  • Cryptogenic organizing pneumonia (516.36)
  • Desquamative interstitial pneumonia (516.37)
  • Lymphangioleiomyomatosis (516.4)
  • Adult pulmonary Langerhans cell histiocytos (516.5)
  • Neuroendocrine cell hyperplasi of infancy (516.61)
  • Pulmonary interstitial glycogenosis (516.62)
  • Surfactant mutations of the lung (516.63)
  • Alveolar cap dysplasia with vein misalign (516.64)
  • Other interstitil lung disease of childhood (516.69)
  • And last on the interstitial lung disease ICD 9 classification is 516.9 that belongs to other nonspecified alveolar and parietoalveolar pneumopathies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *